# DRAFT City of Edna Bay - Special Meeting

## 1 — Meeting Date, Place and Call to order:

This Special meeting was held on Friday, October 9th, 2020 via Cisco WebEx teleconference. Mayor Poelstra called the meeting to order at 6:01 PM.

### 2 — New Roll Call:

Tyler Poelstra	- Mayor / City Council	(Present)
Karen Williams	- Vice Mayor / City Council	(Present)
Myla Poelstra	- Clerk + Treasurer / City Council	(Present)
Mike Williams	- City Council	(Present)
Sandy Henson	- City Council	(Present)
Doris Greif	- City Council	(Present)
Lee Greif	- City Council	(Present)

## 2.1 — Public Participants:

Katie Buss Sharon Wargi Roger DiPaolo Louise DiPaolo Brian Mortensen Becky McEnulty

## 3 — Consent Agenda:

## A: Approval of Meeting Agenda:

The current agenda was read by Mayor Poelstra.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor, and no objections were noted.

#### Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moved to approve the consent agenda as presented.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mr.) Grief
- Approved by unanimous vote of the council

## 3.1 — Special Business:

• a: Election Review Committee and Certification of Election.

#### 4 🖳

## Special Business

### Item A - Election Review Committee and Certification of Election:

Mayor Poelstra read back each section of Title 5:50 of the City of Edna Bay Municipal Code pertaining to the Election Certification process, and followed with the Council through each step.

There were 5 Absentee ballots and 2 Question ballots submitted to the Review Committee. The preliminary results submitted by the Election Judges show no write in candidates, and 18 votes each for Sandra Henson, E. Lee Greif and Karen Williams, respectively.

First the two question ballots from Brian Mortensen and Rebecca McEnulty were reviewed. Both voters are registered Alaska voters, and residents of the City of Edna Bay as per local voter requirements. The Oath and Affidavit letters from each question voter were read back before opening the oath envelope, removing the ballot stub and casting the ballot starting with Brian Mortensen.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor of accept the Oath and Affidavit from Brian Mortensen, no objections were noted.

#### Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moved to approve the Oath and Affidavit from Brian Mortensen and cast his ballot in the General Election.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Poelstra
- Approved by unanimous vote of the Council

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor of accept the Oath and Affidavit from Rebecca McEnulty,

no objections were noted.

#### **Motion:**

Mayor Poelstra moved to approve the Oath and Affidavit from Rebecca McEnulty and cast her ballot in the General Election.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Williams
- Approved by unanimous vote of the Council

Mayor Poelstra then read back the Section of the Election ordinances pertaining Absentee Ballots, and each ballot was reviewed and those in attendance being asked if they had any question regarding the absentee ballot and its Oath and Affidavit Envelope content before proceeding. The following 5 ballots were approved, opened, ballot stub removed and ballot cast:

1: Jay Town
2: Roger DiPaolo
3: Sandra Henson
4: Mike Williams
5: Karen Williams
- Postmarked Oct 1st, 2020
- Postmarked Oct 5th, 2020
- Postmarked Oct 5th, 2020
- Postmarked Oct 5th, 2020

After all question and absentee ballots were cast, the ballot box was opened, each ballot removed one-by-one and the votes tallied and counted. The results were as follows:

1: Sandra Henson - 7 votes 2: E. Lee Grief - 6 votes 3: Karen M. Williams - 7 votes

Mayor Poelstra continued to read the remaining portions of the Election Certification process from Title 5. All votes were then tallied to create the final election results. The vote totals, including those from ballots cast in-person, absentee and in question ballots that were approved to be cast are as follows:

1: Sandra Henson - 25 2: E. Lee Grief - 24 3: Karen M. Williams - 25

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor of accept and Certify the results of the City of Edna Bay 2020 General Election, no objections were noted.

### **Motion:**

Mayor Poelstra moved to Certify the results of the City of Edna Bay 2020 General Election with Sandra Henson winning Seat E, E. Lee Grief winning Seat F and Karen M. Williams winning Seat G.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Poelstra
- Approved by unanimous vote of the Council

## 5 — Persons to Be Heard

Mayor Poelstra thanked the Election Judges for their service and volunteering to work for such a long day.

## Adjournment

Mayor Poelstra moved that the meeting be adjourned. Motion to adjourn seconded by Councilor Henson. Meeting adjourned at 6:49 PM.